Digital Death In Social Media

Suicide Machine is a website that allows users to delete their social media accounts in a sensational way.

Suicide Machine is a website that allows users to delete their social media accounts in a sensational way.

Facebook has blocked the site, but while active, users could input their social media credentials, allowing a program to unfriend, unfollow, and remove any trace and contact with other users.

These traces include personal information along with wall posts and tweets. The system automatically removes information and unfriends others one user at a time, allowing you to watch as the system gradually removes your 2.0 existence.

Rather than deleting profiles, which allows Facebook to still keep photos and data back-ups of your profile, the creators hope:

by removing your contact details and friend connections one-by-one, your data is being cached out from their backup servers. This can happen after days, weeks, months or even years.

[via The Guardian]

Comments

Quantcast