menu
Get a daily delivery of PSFK
Subscribe to get a daily digest of new ideas and discoveries and to find out about upcoming events

24 Hours Climate Hack-a-Thon Will Build Energy Reduction Apps

24 Hours Climate Hack-a-Thon Will Build Energy Reduction Apps

The event challenges participants to build platforms around power, deforestation and greenhouse gas reduction.

Emma Hutchings

The Energy and Climate Hackday on March 3rd is encouraging developers, economists, environmentalists and other groups with coding, writing and climate modelling skills to data-wrangle and build apps around energy and climate data. Those who want to hack for a better world will be challenged to create apps using data from the World Bank and various environmental organizations at the event in London or online through Skype.

The Energy and Climate Hackday takes place on Saturday from 11am GMT (12pm CET/6am EST) until 7pm GMT (8pm CET/3pm EST) and online participants can join in an hour after the event starts. Those concerned about the environment are set Hackday challenges to create apps related to energy, deforestation and greenhouse gas reduction. As an added incentive, one successful prototype will be submitted to the Apps4Climate World Bank competition, whose ‘Best App for Climate Awards’ category offers a number of cash prizes including $15,000 for first place.

Energy and Climate Hackday

{{post.author_display_name}}
  • {{post.date_formated}}
{{post.author_display_name}}
  • {{post.date_formated}}
Read More Tap to Expand
PSFK Writer {{post.author_display_name}}
  • {{post.date_formated}}
PSFK 2015

Live, Work, Play Better
The PSFK 2015 conference experience

NEW YORK, NY | April 16-April 18 2015
Get a daily delivery of PSFK
TREND REPORT

PSFK Labs presents
The Future of Retail 2015

A Manifesto To Reinvent The Store