Social Media Updates That Self-Destruct After They Are Posted

Safer places to share messages and media are growing in popularity and two new apps are moving into this space.

After privacy concerns, secure social media channels are growing in popularity as “safer” places to share messages, photos, and videos.  Two new apps are moving into this space, promising to meet demand with greater supply.

Social Media That Self-Destructs

Wickr is a new encrypted messaging app that destroys the information after it has been sent.  It meets NSA top-secret compliance standards and enables users to to send self-destructing messages for free to others anywhere in the world while leaving no trace.

Users can send and receive text, photos, videos, voice and pdfs that are secure, private and anonymous. The sender decides who sees what, where and for how long. Military-grade encryption is used, no personal info is collected from users, and a Secure File Shredder forensically erases unwanted files deleted from their device.

Social Media That Self-Destructs

Blink is an ephemeral messaging service that allows people to share self-destructing text and photos with groups. Users set a timer and send their secure message for free and these stay private because they disappear whenever you want them to. The developer writes:

No one wants a record of their private chats to stick around forever. Now you can be yourself — silly, spontaneous, and totally honest. It’s all fair game on Blink, because the things you say and the pictures you take won’t follow you around forever.

Blink // Wickr

Quantcast