Netflix Privacy Mode Feature May Hide Your Recently Viewed Queue

The movie and television streaming service is testing out a new privacy function for its customers

In this day and age, there’s little more telling than a person’s Netflix history. The things people watch when they think no one else will ever know, whether its out of curiosity or a guilty pleasure that needs to remain the upmost secret. However, if you have friends over, or even have an account with multiple users, someone’s penchant for cheesy romantic comedies or children’s animated shows might not stay so secret. It’s become enough of a problem that Netflix is testing a new privacy mode, so those shows you’re ashamed of can’t live without never seeing the light of day.

Cliff Edwards, Netflix’s director of corporate communications and technology, describes the experimental feature as a way to not only hide movies you don’t want others to know you’ve watched, but also to keep it from affecting your recommendations:

At Netflix we continuously test new things. In this case, we are testing a feature in which a user watching a movie or TV show can choose to view in ‘Privacy Mode.’ Choosing that option means the program will not appear in your viewing activity log, nor will it be used to determine recommendations about what you should watch in the future.

Only a few users currently this option, but if it proves popular enough, it could remain a full-time fixture on the site, so hopefully they have a few secret favorites to hide. It does serve several purposes, like hiding movies you promised your significant other you’d wait to see with them, or when your in-laws spend their weekend with you binge-watching old British dramas.

Netflix wouldn’t be the only service to offer a privacy mode. Music streaming service Spotify offers users the option to have a “private session” so that people can listen to Hannah Montana without being judged by the people who follow them.

[h/t] Gigaom

Image Courtesy of Marit and Toomas Hinnosaar

Comments

Quantcast