menu

Erasing Digital History On Facebook

Erasing Digital History On Facebook

How do teens manage their online privacy and gain more control over their social media accounts?

Naresh Kumar
  • 10 november 2010

How do teens, who participate actively in Facebook, take care of their online privacy and reduce the risk of getting into trouble because of some post they made ages ago? Danah Boyd of Zephoria talked to two teen girls on their strange but very effective ‘risk reduction strategies’ on Facebook. These range from deactivating their accounts (yep, its different from deleting your account) to deleting every post, message and ‘Like’ on their profiles shortly after they’ve been posted, all in a bid to erase their digital history and give them more control over their Facebook accounts.

Access this article for free
Fill in your email address below and we’ll get you signed up for 30-day access to our content and newsletters.
Already a member? Log in here

Latest Trend Reports

Building Loyalty Through Conversational AI And Chatbots
View Report
A Unified Channel Strategy To Drive Brick & Data Retail
View Report
See More Reports

Learn About Our Membership Services

Need Research Help?
As a member you can ask us any research questions and get complimentary research assistance with a 4-day turnaround. Reports inclde stats, quotes, and best-inclass examples on research topics.
Remain Informed & Strategic
We publish several trends reports each month. By becoming a member you will have access to over 100 existing reports, plus a growing catalog of deep topical analysis and debrief-style reports so you always remain in the know.
See Trends Come To Life
Meet your peers and immerse yourself in monthly trend and innovation webinars and discounted conferences.
No search results found.