Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakul Karman are awarded the peace prize for their work campaigning for women's rights.


Photo: New York Times

This article titled “Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakul Karman win Nobel prize” was written by Esther Addley, for The Guardian on Friday 7th October 2011 13.45 UTC

Three women who have campaigned for peace and democracy in Liberia and Yemen have been jointly awarded this year’s Nobel peace prize.

The Liberian president, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, and Leymah Gbowee, a social worker turned peace campaigner from the same country, will share the 10m kronor (£950,000) prize with Tawakul Karman, a journalist and pro-democracy activist in Yemen who has been a leading figure in the protests against President Ali Abdullah Saleh since January.

This content is available for Premium Subscribers only.
Already a subscriber? Log in