Ben & Jerry’s Vegan Varieties Ditch Dairy for a New Ingredient

Ben & Jerry’s Vegan Varieties Ditch Dairy for a New Ingredient

Fan feedback encouraged this company to offer vegan ice cream

Emma Hutchings
  • 4 february 2016

Fans of Ben & Jerry’s ice cream have long been asking for non-dairy alternatives and the company has listened to its consumers. After months of research and development, a selection has been revealed aimed at those committed to a vegan lifestyle and people who can’t eat dairy for health reasons. The four new flavors are certified vegan and made with almond milk. Now, those who are unable—or choose not to—consume dairy can try out these frozen desserts.


The lineup includes two classic Ben & Jerry’s flavors and two non-dairy exclusive flavors. There is P.B. & Cookies (vanilla with chocolate sandwich cookies and crunchy peanut butter swirls), Coffee Caramel Fudge (coffee with fudge chunks and caramel swirls), Chocolate Fudge Brownie (chocolate with fudge brownie pieces), and Chunky Monkey (banana with fudge chunks and walnuts).

They experimented with lots of different formulas before deciding that almond milk provided the best blank canvas for the brownies, caramel, nuts and chocolate they sourced, while offering a rich and creamy taste. Ben & Jerry’s partnered with Vegan Action to certify that the non-dairy products don’t include animal products of any kind, including eggs, dairy or honey. They called on Greyston Bakery in New York, who they’ve been partnering with since 1988 for their gooey chocolate brownies, to create a vegan brownie they could use in their non-dairy flavors.


Ben & Jerry’s Flavor Guru Kirsten Schimoler said:

“Creating these new flavors with a non-dairy base composition that meets the high expectations of Ben & Jerry’s consumers was quite a challenge. We wanted to bring the same fun with all of the creamy, funky, and chunky swirls plus the Ben & Jerry’s flavor excitement to our non-dairy fans and we nailed it!”

The non-dairy flavors are available in pints for $5.69 and the P.B. & Cookies will be featured in Scoop Shops nationwide. You can learn more about the new line-up in the video below:

Ben & Jerry’s

+ben & jerry’s
+Market Research
+Vegan Action

PSFK 2017: How Morgan Spurlock Tells Stories With Just The Right Amount Of Crazy

Fashion Yesterday
Food Yesterday
No search results found.